How do I delete my project?

Modified on Thu, 10 Sep at 3:29 PM

Once you have completed your project and your license has expired, you can delete your data.


Your project files (with the extensions .mqda, .mx24, or .mx22), which contain your data, are stored locally on your computer. By default, you’ll find the MAXQDA, MAXQDA24, or MAXQDA22 folder within your Document Browser in the “Documents” folder, which contains both your project files and backups:



In this folder, you can permanently delete your project file, backups, and external files.


Please note that we do not have access to your data and cannot view or delete it. This also means that we cannot recover any deleted data.

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article