How can I save my project?

Modified on Fri, 26 Apr 2024 at 11:01 AM

MAXQDA is a database program, which means that almost all changes are automatically saved (e.g. data imports, the creation and application of codes etc.) in the project files. That’s why MAXQDA does not have a “save” button. Once an action is performed, it’s immediately saved. It’s also why MAXQDA double-checks before deleting important project elements, such as codes.


Documents and memos that are currently being edited, for example when you are writing notes in a text document or transcribing audio/video files, are automatically saved every 5 minutes. This time interval can be adjusted in the project settings. Open maps in MAXMAps are automatically saved every minute and also when they are closed. Logbook entries are saved when you close the logbook window.


Caution when saving to external resources

Please do not save your MAXQDA project files (.mx24), external files (documents, videos, pdfs, …) or backup in external resources like network drives, USB flash drives, or any cloud-synchronized folder (OneDrive, Google Drive, iCloud). This can lead to severe damage to your project file!


please read the following FAQ: “Caution: Why you should not open MAXQDA projects from USB drives, network drives, or cloud services (Dropbox, iCloud, etc.)“.

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article